Skip to main content
x

Xerces Events

To request staff participation at an event or to be a speaker, please fill out our speaker request form here. For questions regarding the speaker request form contact Rachel Dunham at [email protected].

 

The list of events on this page will be updated regularly. To view past webinars, please visit our YouTube channel. We also announce events on social media and via our e-newsletter. If you have questions, please email [email protected].

Mar 28
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT / 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT/ 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT/ 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Webinar

Join Rich Hatfield, Xerces Senior Endangered Species Conservation Biologist, to take a deep dive into the reproductive females of bumble bees, including cuckoo bumble bees. We'll primarily look at the solitary phase of the lifecycle, including what is known about where and how they hibernate, and what we know about what it takes to establish a nest and how they select a site. We'll likely have as many questions as answers in this webinar, but please join us for an exploration into the lesser known aspects of bumble bee ecology.

This webinar will be recorded and available on our YouTube channel. Closed Captioning will be available during this webinar.

Learn more and register here today!


Rich Hatfield - Senior Endangered Species Conservation Biologist, Bumble Bee Conservation Lead - Xerces Society
Rich manages all aspects of the Xerces Society’s work on bumble bees. Rich has a master’s degree in conservation biology from San Francisco State University, and he joined the Xerces Society in 2012. While earning his degree, his thesis focused on local- and landscape-level factors that contribute to bumble bee species richness and abundance. He has also investigated native bee pollination in agricultural systems in the Central Valley of California and researched endangered butterflies in the San Juan Mountains of Colorado, as well as throughout the Pacific Northwest. In addition to his skills as a research biologist, Rich also has extensive classroom teaching experience with a focus on conservation biology, ecology, and sustainability.