Skip to main content
x

Xerces Events

Due to the coronavirus, we will not be holding or participating in any in-person events during the pandemic. We will resume in-person events as soon as it is safe and appropriate. In the meantime, we are committed to presenting as many events online as we can, including a new series of Xerces-hosted webinars. (Webinars will be close captioned and recordings added to our YouTube channel.)

 

The list of events on this page will be updated regularly. You can also find updates on social media and via our e-newsletter. If you have questions, please contact Liz Robertson at [email protected]

 

Please note that we are still accepting in-person speaker requests for 2021 events, although this may change depending on public health guidance. In the meantime, we can provide talks through platforms such as Zoom and Google Hangouts. Please fill out our speaker request form here. For questions regarding the speaker request form contact Rachel Dunham at [email protected]

 

February 26
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM PST / 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM MST / 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM CST / 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM EST
Webinar

 

Join us in a dynamic, interactive webinar focused on how to find bee-safe plants for your pollinator gardens. You’ll walk out with tools for identifying pollinator-friendly growing practices in nurseries and greenhouses, a plan for how you can encourage your nursery to incorporate pollinator-friendly pest management into their business, and confidence in your capacity to make a difference.

This webinar kicks off our Buying Bee-Safe Plants campaign.

We are proud to feature Aimee Code, Sharon Selvaggio, and Sarah Hoyle (all with Xerces Society) together with Kendra Klein (Friends of the Earth) and Marcia Carsten (Friends of Hudson Parks) in this webinar.

This webinar will be recorded and available on our YouTube channel. Closed Captioning will be available during this webinar.

Click here for more information and to register. 

March 4
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM PST / 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM MST / 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM CST / 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM EST
Webinar

 

In this webinar, Mace Vaughan, Xerces Pollinator Program Co-Director, will share whole-farm conservation planning approaches to enhance pollinator and other wildlife habitat on farms, ranches and working forests. Specifically, he will give an overview of key pollinator habitat elements and then discuss a variety of opportunities for incorporating habitat for pollinators and other agriculturally beneficial insects (natural enemies of crop pests) into a wide range of landscapes and conservation practices.

This webinar will be recorded and available on our YouTube channel. Closed Captioning will be available during this webinar.

Click here for more information and to register.

March 18
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM PST / 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM MST / 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM CST / 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM EST
Webinar

 

Well managed rangelands are home for many species of wildlife, including pollinators, and management decisions play an important role in conserving their habitat. Join Xerces staff as we highlight best management practices to manage rangeland using grazing, fire, or haying to support livestock production and pollinator health.

This webinar will be recorded and available on our YouTube channel. Closed Captioning will be available during this webinar.

Click here for more information and to register.

April 1
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM PST / 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM MST / 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM CST / 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM EST
Webinar

Healthy, living soil and its functions are created and maintained by fungi, bacteria, plants and by invertebrate animals as diverse as annelids, springtails, and firefly larvae, among others. Soil invertebrates are fundamental to soil health and create soil structure, cycle organic matter, consume weed seeds and predate crop pests. This workshop will familiarize participants with common soil invertebrates, their ecology and roles in soil health, scouting methods, and management strategies to increase beneficial soil animal populations.

This webinar will be recorded and available on our YouTube channel. Closed Captioning will be available during this webinar.

Click here for more information and to register.

April 15
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM PST / 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM MST / 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM CST / 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM EST
Webinar

Discover the mysteries of pollinators and natural enemies of crop pests through this informative webinar. Learn how to differentiate a honey bee from a native bee and how to recognize some of our most common natural enemies of crop pests. This webinar will introduce a simple monitoring protocol designed to help farmers, land-managers and backyard gardeners assess populations of beneficial insects on their farm or in their garden.

This webinar will be recorded and available on our YouTube channel. Closed Captioning will be available during this webinar.

Click here for more information and to register.

May 6
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM PST / 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM MST / 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM CST / 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM EST
Webinar

 

Integrating habitat onto farms and other landscapes can support pollinators and the pollination services they provide. However, flower-rich plantings often require ongoing management to maintain wildflower diversity for pollinators over time. Come learn about a framework for selecting the most appropriate management techniques, and learn how landowners we work with are managing their pollinator plantings.

This webinar will be recorded and available on our YouTube channel. Closed Captioning will be available during this webinar.

Click here for more information and to register.